Building a quantum computer is a major challenge in understanding the quantum effects that we want to put to practical use for computation. Along with that we have a big challenge in designing the control and measurement electronics that are needed to operate a complex device such as a quantum computer at high frequencies and temperatures near absolute zero.

Led by Program Manager Associate Professor Arne Laucht from UNSW Sydney, the Scale-up Engineering Program focuses on developing these enabling technologies: high-sensitivity quantum measurements, control and readout multiplexing for routing information into, out of, and within the quantum processor.


Warning: Use of undefined constant php - assumed 'php' (this will throw an Error in a future version of PHP) in /home/customer/www/ on line 249

Featured publications

view all
Quantum-coherent nanoscience AJ Heinrich, WD Oliver, LMK Vandersypen, A Ardavan, R Sessoli, D Loss, AB Jayich, J Fernandez-Rossier, A Laucht, A Morello Nature Nanotechnology, (2021)
Fast Coherent Control of a Nitrogen-Vacancy-Center Spin Ensemble Using a KTaO3 Dielectric Resonator at Cryogenic Temperatures HH Vallabhapurapu, JP Slack-Smith, VK Sewani, C Adambukulam, A Morello, J Pla, A Laucht Physical Review Applied, 16, 044051 (2021)
A High-Sensitivity Charge Sensor for Silicon Qubits above 1 K JY Huang, WH Lim, RCC Leon, CH Yang, FE Hudson, CC Escott, A Saraiva, AS Dzurak, A Laucht Nano Letters, 21, 6328 (2021)
Coherent spin qubit transport in silicon J Yoneda, W Huang, M Feng, CH Yang, KW Chan, T Tanttu, W Gilbert, RCC Leon, FE Hudson, KM Itoh, A Morello, SD Bartlett, A Laucht, A Saraiva, AS Dzurak Nature Communications, 12, 4114 (2021)
Metallic carbon nanotube quantum dots with broken symmetries as a platform for tunable terahertz detection G Buchs, M Marganska, JW Gonzalez, K Eimre, CA Pignedoli Applied Physics Reviews, 8, 021406 (2021)
Roadmap on quantum nanotechnologies A Laucht, F Hohls, N Ubbelohde, MF Gonzalez-Zalba, DJ Rielly, S Stobbe, T Schroder, P Scarlino, JV Koski, A Dzurak, CH Yang, J Yoneda, F Kuemmeth, H Bluhm, J Pla, C Hill, J Salfi, A Oiwa, JT Muhonen, E Verhagen, MD LaHaye, HH Kim, AW Tsen, D Culcer, A Geresdi, JA Mol, V Mohan, PK Jain, J Baugh Nanotechnology, 32, 162003 (2021)